Book reviews and recs…

Screen Shot 2014-06-05 at 4.43.10 PM

There’s something about summer that tends to find me lost in a book. Between reading on car rides and at the pool – and soon, at the beach – I’ve been flying through some fun summer reads.

The Beaches and Brides Romance Collection by Cathy Marie Hake and others

If I had held this book in my hands, I may have freaked out with joy. It was HUGE. I originally thought it was just five novellas, but the stories read like full-length books, which is a big compliment in my book. Five difference stories all set by the sea tell you about how the Key West nanny, the Washington widow, the Maine sister, the Georgia lightkeeper and the Virginia artist all find love. This was sweet, uplifting historical Christian fiction that really made me smile. Read via NetGalley. Find more info here.

The Chase by Janet Evanovich and Lee Goldberg

I haven’t read a Janet Evanovich book in quite a while, but this book was AWESOME and I just flew through it. Die-hard FBI agent Kate O’Hare is fun to read about, and I got so wrapped up in the story of how she was trying to “catch” international thief and con artist Nicolas Fox. There are so many great twists and turns in this book. It really kept me on the edge of my seat the whole way through. Read via NetGalley. Find more info here.

Perfected by Kate Jarvik Birch

Perfected was touted as something fans of Keira Cass’ Selection Series would enjoy, and since those books have been some of my favorites of the year, I decided to give it a whirl. While it’s a teen novel, this book actually made me think more than any book has in the past year. In Perfected, legislation has been passed that allows humans to be genetically engineered and sold as pets to the rich and famous. Ella is sold as a pet to a congressman for his young daughter, but is kidnapped by activists and “set free.” She struggles, and it’s such a crazy thing to read about. My only complaint about this book was that the story just ended. There wasn’t a great wrap-up to the story, and I missed that. Read via NetGalley. Find more info here.

Searching for Perfect by Jennifer Probst

The head of an up-and-coming NYC matchmaking agency needs a dose of her own medicine. Kennedy takes on one of her hardest clients ever – a rocket scientist who is a little challenged in the dating realm. She thinks she can find the right girl for him. But she’s not sure she wants to. Fun, cute summer read. Read via NetGalley. Find more info here.

One thought on “Book reviews and recs…

Leave a Reply

