Wrapping up Oklahoma…

IMG_6074All in all, we spent eight days on the road enjoying Alabama softball, the Women’s College World Series and Oklahoma City. It was so much fun to cheer the Crimson Tide on to their second-ever appearance in the championship series. While it may not have ended the way we wanted, I wouldn’t trade our time out there for anything in the world.

It was a mini vacation for sure for Brett and me. We enjoyed a lot of downtime, and I got in a few extra workouts, long walks, books and more.

One morning Brett and I ventured out on our own and found breakfast at the adorable Kitchen No. 324 in downtown OKC. It was delicious – I was so excited to find something fun and IMG_6120new to check out…. and then I saw the in-house coffee bar. Y’all. There weren’t words. I had the best iced mocha of my life. It was so good, and I didn’t shut up about it for so long, that Brett brought me TWO the next day to wake me up. Bonus points for that man, I tell you. Bonus points.

In Bricktown, a cute little downtown area we were staying in, were lots of fun little shops and restaurants, including Sonic’s international headquarters along with their flagship store. It was our goal to go beat the heat and enjoy a Sonic slush during our stay, but that seemed to be the hardest part of our trip. It took us three different trips down to Sonic before I finally came away with my cherry slush (Brett went with watermelon, blech!)

We completed our IMG_6145list of fun things to do with a morning – seriously, 9:50 a.m. – trip to the movies to see Maleficent. It was fantastic – and if you liked Wicked, you’ll love this. The movie reminded me of the show a lot, in the sense that it was “the other side of the story.” We had a ball that morning, for sure!

While Alabama lost to Florida in the championship series, it meant the world to be there as Jordan ended her collegiate career. We’ve watched hundreds of softball games over the past 10 years, and I couldn’t imagine not being there for her and be there to hug her when it was all over. And we had a lot of fun along the way too – in case you couldn’t tell. Roll Tide, and thanks for the memories sweet sister of mine!

IMG_6158

One thought on “Wrapping up Oklahoma…

Leave a Reply

