The holiday bookshelf…

cover62961-mediumcover59573-medium cover62077-medium

 

 

 

 

 

I love Christmas break. Almost a dozen days off of work with lots of down time and family fun is pure bliss. But one of the best parts about it is the time I get to dive back into reading. I get a lot of my writing energy from reading. I write better when I’ve been reading – no matter what kind of book it is.

So I’m excited to go back into work at a busy time with a head full of new words.

Here’s what I’ve read over the break and what I thought about it… You know I’ll be back with more soon.

Drawing Fire by Janice Cantore

I absolutely loved this book. When I went to look it up on Amazon to share for this post, I had to laugh when I saw it frequently purchased with books by Dee Henderson, another favorite author of mine. That absolutely makes sense.

Drawing Fire is a great read, featuring homicide detective Abby Hart. A recent case brings more to light about her past, and how her parents were killed in a fire. She fights to learn the truth and finally bring their killer to justice. Along the way she gets to know an intriguing (and handsome) PI. Fun, easy read. You can check it out on Amazon here.

Conflicting Webs by Darlene Quinn

I’ve read the four previous Darlene Quinn Web series books, and was so excited to hear that this fifth book was out! You really could not imagine all the challenges April Toddman and Kyle Clark have to go through to get to their wedding day and life beyond – it’s unreal. But the Toddman clan, and all the cast of characters you’ve become familiar with are back and better than ever in this book. Highly recommend, but while they say this can stand alone – I’d read them in order instead. Check it out here.

From Scratch by Rachel Goodman

This book is the one I’ve known about the longest among this trio of reads. Rachel Goodman used to blog as Mojito Maven, and you can still find her on Twitter. So hearing about this book from when she signed to write it on through it’s publication was fun. I think it’s absolutely fantastic on top of that! It’s definitely “sweet” if you’ll pardon the pun.

In this fun Southern romance, Lillie has to head back home and winds up facing numerous demons. She winds up competing in place of her father in the annual regional baking competition Upper Crust – and gets a whole lot more than she bargained for in the process. A happy, romantic, fluffy read, this would make the perfect spring getaway for your brain. Check it out on Amazon here – just $5.99 right now! (Future plug, Rachel’s also got Sour Grapes coming out in May!)

2 thoughts on “The holiday bookshelf…

Leave a Reply

