An unconventional Disney day…

If you’ve been around me for any time at all, you know I’m a Disney nut. I married a Disney nut. We will forever be Disney nuts. We have come to terms with our nuttiness.

IMG_6188

But right now, it has been a year since our last Disney trip. I’m missing the happiest place on earth. And after a hectic holiday season and a few trying weeks, when a long weekend popped up, I made my pitch. “Honey, please? I just. I just want to go to Disney. Let’s get in the car after work tomorrow and go.”

Y’all. Darling husband? He laughed at me. Yes, he wanted to go too. But it’s not in the budget and that was that.

So he asked me something instead. He asked me to give him one of my three days that weekend, morning to night. Keep my schedule and to do list clear. So I did. And it was one of the most fun days we could have had.

Brett planned an at-home Disney day for me.

IMG_6202He sent me off to start the day at Pure Barre to get a workout in, since “We would have walked 10 miles for a workout at Disney World.” On the way home, he told me to go pick up my favorite drink to get as we walk down Main Street in the Magic Kingdom. I snagged a skinny Mocha Light Frappuccino from Starbucks and headed home. I found a Disney banner hung and a scavenger hunt waiting that led me to a new pair of ears.

We went to a Mexican restaurant for lunch, saw the new Star Wars movie in theaters, and then went home for an afternoon showing of Aladdin. To finish the evening, we pretended we were in Epcot at Le Cellier and cooked steak and poutine. It was perfect.

I’m still missing Disney World. But thanks to a vey precious man, I’m not missing it quite as much as I was before. I think we should do it once a month – or at least once per season.

Here’s to Disney days – wherever they are.

6 thoughts on “An unconventional Disney day…

  1. Lauren says:

    Well! I think this is the cutest idea EVER and I am jotting down ideas to do this for my kids this summer. SO fun. Have you seen Jamberry’s new Disney Collection by Jamberry yet? LOVE them. laurenfresh.jamberry.com/

  2. Kari says:

    Definitely a keeper and such a great idea! I find it always help when i’m missing my second home to work on planning our next trip. It always helps!

    Thanks for sharing in our Sunday Brunch Link-up on Alabama Women Bloggers!

    Kari Scott
    Editor, Alabama Women Bloggers

  3. todrinkandwrite says:

    I think this is the cutest thing ever – you guys! What a fun idea! This makes me want to do a blog series or blog exchange – letting each other virtually explore our hometowns or something!

    I’ve missed reading your blog – I took a long hiatus, but I’m back!

Leave a Reply

